Throwback Thursday Review: I Remember Mommy’s Smile by Dina Baker, Rachel Nagelberg

TBT

I previously had a different book blog, and I had a bunch of problems with the hosting company I used for the blog, and all of my content was deleted.  I managed to salvage some of my reviews from back then by compiling what I wrote on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes and Nobles review sections.  I will be posting these reviews under a new blog post called Throw Back Thursday Reviews, until I have posted them all on this blog. 🙂I don’t have a picture for this book. 😦

Goodreads Summary:

Sometimes it can be difficult to know how to talk with a child about the illness or death of a parent. I Remember Mommy’s Smile offers parents and other caregivers an opportunity to open the door to dialogue. It also shows children that they are not alone or strange; others have gone through this type of sadness and loss, and they have ended up okay. As author Dina Wolfman Baker understands from her own experience, knowing you’re not alone can mean a great deal. These are her memoirs…written from her child self to other children, with the sensitivity, honesty and directness that can only come from having been there.

My Thoughts:

This book is based on the author’s own childhood experience. It was written to help children deal with the loss of family members due to illness. It will help children to understand their feelings and also lets them know it is normal and okay to feel angry, confused or sad. This book will help any family that is going through something like this. It’s hard to explain death or illness to a child, but this book I feel would be a great tool in helping them understand. It talks about how the mom is sick and can’t play or do things like she used to, and how sometimes she seems okay. It also talks about how scary the hospital was.

VERDICT

I recommend this to anyone who has children, and needs to explain death or serious illness. This should also be a part of every grief counselors book shelf to help children.

12

Author: Kaitlin Michelle

Stuff and nonsense

Tell me your thoughts